Purest Of Pain prepare debut album

Dutch melodic death metal quintet Purest of Pain are ready to unleash their debut album Solipsis on March 1st.

Led by guitarist and main songwriter, Delain‘s Merel Bechtold, the line-up of Purest Of Pain includes bandmate Joey de Boer on drums.  The band were formed in 2008 and this album has been in the works for seven years.  The relatively long timespans are due to  Merel’s time in Delain, as well as her work with Anneke van Giersbergen, The Gentle Storm and MaYaN, as well as the schedules of the band’s other members.

Following the 2011 release of the Revelations in Obscurity EP and the single, Momentum in 2013, the band concentrated on live work, opening for heavyweights such Opeth, Suicide Silence and Unearth in their home country as well as a number of festival appearances. The bulk of the live work was in part to help fund the album recordings but also gave them the chance to hone their craft so that when they were able to enter the studio, the songs for  Solipsis would be 100% ready.

Choosing to remain totally independent, the band launched an overwhelmingly successful crowd-funding campaign, which saw them reach their target in just six days.  Once they had the resources in place, Merel took the production reins, with invaluable help coming from Mantis Audio studio and legendary ‘sound wizard’ Jens Bogren, well known for his work with Opeth, Arch EnemySoilwork amongst others.

Leave a Reply